Liberals set to dominate new council for four years

Fifth term: Kevin Schreiber Processed By Colour Factory 17/09/2012 12:04:46 PMChannel: 3a_FCN_NSW_EDITORIAL_Newsprint_18.6cm_CMYK
Nanjing Night Net

THE final configuration of councillors on the new Sutherland Shire Council is nine Liberals, three ALP representatives, two independents and one Shire Watch Independent.

Long-serving Liberal councillor Kevin Schreiber was re-elected for a fifth term in A Ward. Independent Carol Provan was re-elected to the ward after the distribution of preferences. They are joined in A Ward by new Liberal councillor Scott Williams.

In B Ward, Liberal Kent Johns was re-elected. His second on the ticket, Tracy Cook, was elected alongside Labor stalwart Phil Blight.

C Ward has three new councillors; Liberals Hassan Awada and Tom Croucher, and Labor’s Peter Scaysbrook.

D Ward will be represented by the Liberal’s Carmelo Pesci, the ALP’s Dierdree Steinwall and independent Bruce Walton.

In E Ward, Liberal councillor Steve Simpson was re-elected, as was his second on the ticket, John Riad. Shire Watch Independents councillor Peter Towell was re-elected.

Cr Schreiber said the election was an outstanding result for the Liberal party.

“This includes three experienced councillors to give advice to the new councillors, so the council can move forward and give the shire good leadership,” he said.

Cr Schreiber, who has served on the council for 17 years, said it was the largest Liberal majority that he could remember.

Cr Towell was re-elected in E Ward by just 13 votes after preferences.

“The Liberals preferenced Labor in the third position across the shire,” Cr Towell said.

“[The Liberals] were determined to knock out Shire Watch Independents, which shows that we must have been doing something right for them to gang up on us.”

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on Nanjing Night Net.

Categories: 南京夜网